Summer Reading List

I have been working on my summer reading list and here it is:

1.  Organic Manifesto by Maria Rodale. (Nonfiction)

2.  Take Good Care of the Garden and the Dogs by Heather Lende. (Nonfiction)

3.  Bonobo Handshake by Vanessa Woods. (Nonfiction)

4.  Backseat Saints by Joshilyn Jackson. (Fiction)

5.  The Madonnas of Echo Park by Brando Skyhorse. (Fiction)

6. Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand by Helen Simonson. (Fiction)

7. The room and the chair by Lorraine Adams. (Fiction)

8. The Cookbook Collector by Allegra Goodman. (Fiction)

9. The Imperfectionists by Tom Rachman. (Fiction)

10. Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese. (Fiction)

11. Girl in Translation by Jean Kwok. (Fiction)

12.  Every Day in Tuscany: seasons of an Italian life by Frances Mayes. (Nonfiction)

13. Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet by Jamie Ford. (Fiction)

14. Gourmet Rhapsody by Muriel Barbery. (Fiction)

15. This Body of Death by Elizabeth George. (Fiction)

At the moment I am reading Organic Manifesto.  It is depressing to learn about what we are doing to ourselves through the use of pesticides and GMOs.  I have made it a point to try to eat healthier, and I buy more organic foods when possible and little to no processed food.  I eat a vegetarian diet.  I try to eat local as much as I possibly can.  But I have to admit that yesterday afternoon when I was eating my organic apple as an afternoon snack, I wished it was as crisp as its pesticide-laden likely GMO counterpart at the grocery store. Then I read the Roundup horror story, and I think that an apple that is a bit mealy (it likely traveled several days to get to Kansas) is a small price to pay for health.

Well, enough about food and GMOs and pesticides (I should move to Europe where they have been banned!). In my desire to try some new things this summer, I am branching out a bit from just knitting and playing music by taking a wheel pottery class, and I have also decided to try my hand at some jewelry.

Soon to be a Bracelet

 I am stringing a pattern of beads onto nylon cord and will then knit it into a bracelet.  I have a printed pattern at home (not for the beads, but for the bracelet) and I think it may have been something I found on Knitty a few years ago, but I am unable to recall.  It will take 50 repeats of my bead pattern to have a strand long enough to knit, and I have just under 30 repeats completed.

About ksknitter

I wear many hats -- mother and grandmother, paralegal, knitter, bass player in a praise and worship band, gardener, cook, avid reader, good friend, good listener -- just to name a few. View all posts by ksknitter

Leave a Reply

