Herb Day and Gardening

Saturday morning was Herb Day at the local agricultural extension office and farm market.  It opened around 7 a.m. and I got there shortly after 8, so it wasn’t too crowded and there were plenty of options to purchase.  I bought two nice bunches of asparagus, radishes, tomatoes, and cucumbers. And a rhubarb pie.  I wandered around for awhile browsing all the booths and the plant offerings.  I ended up purchasing dill, cilantro and two sweet basil plants.  I purchased tickets for my mother and aunt to go to the local garden tour this year as a Mother’s Day gift.

Then I ran various errands — picked up a 6 month supply of Interceptor for the pug and a new bottle of dog shampoo.  Did the rest of my grocery shopping. Filled the car with gas.  Bought make up and toiletries at Target.

Friday after work I went to a theater in the old town district and picked up some tickets to the Sex and the City 2 movie premier.  Our local Dress for Success is doing a fundraiser and so a couple of my friends and I are going.  It should be a lot of fun.  Only one of us has seen the first movie, so we will have a movie watching party before the premier.  Dress for Success is holding a fashion show, buffet, and goodie bag giveaway and then showing the movie.  $35 per ticket, but it will be fun and it is for a good cause.

Later that evening I met two friends at Starbuck’s for coffee and to celebrate A’s 50th birthday.  I told the barista that she needed to eat 50 bites of dessert — but she was not going for it.  So we ate and drank coffee and chatted and had a great time.

I finished cleaning out the back flower bed over the weekend and planted my new herbs in two large pots.  I cleaned out the bird bath and refilled it.  Did a little knitting.  Still finishing a baby sweater and I worked on a bright pink dishcloth.

Did some cooking.  There was a lunch after church yesterday, so I made a platter of hummus and a lemon pesto goat cheese dip to eat with fresh veggies.  The hummus went fast! Last night I made falafel salad for dinner and ate a small piece of rhubarb pie.  I think I will get some rhubarb next weekend at the farm market and make either a rhubarb custard or cobbler.  I love rhubarb.

My mother is involved with an animal rescue group and she always has at least one or two foster dogs in addition to her own dog.  Right now she has a young Japanese chin who loves to play and run, so I took the pug and went over there for awhile yesterday afternoon.  The dogs ran around and we sat out on the deck.  I gave her the garden tour tickets and picked up some farm eggs that she had gotten for me from a new source. She volunteers two days a week at the local low cost spay-neuter clinic and a young woman has started coming in there who sells farm eggs and homemade butter.

I thought the fashionista might be coming home again, but she changed her mind.  Last week she turned 22 and was ill, and got really homesick.  One of the phone calls I got was her sobbing and saying I JUST WANT TO COME HOME. I WANT MY MOM AND MY DOG!  But she finally went to the doctor and got some antibiotics and is fine now.  So she is staying in Pennsylvania for the time being.

About ksknitter

I wear many hats -- mother and grandmother, paralegal, knitter, bass player in a praise and worship band, gardener, cook, avid reader, good friend, good listener -- just to name a few. View all posts by ksknitter

Leave a Reply

