Tuesday’s child is full of grace

I loved that poem as a child.  I would recite through the days of the week and each time I wanted to be born on a different day — dependent upon my mood.

Studious Sweatercoat

I found this awhile back and saved it to look at and savor.  I LOVE LOVE LOVE this!  Not that it is something I could realistically wear.  But I would love to be able to make something like this.  I think it was from Anthropologie.

I have been watching The River Cottage documentary series that Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall did and seeing factory farmed chicken reinforces my decision to stop eating meat.  When I did eat meat, I bought free range and natural meats as much as possible — but it does cost more and I can see how it might be difficult for people with lower incomes and larger families to buy.  I have been impressed by Fearnley-Whittingstall’s dedication to educate people on eating organically.

Saturday was a lovely sunny day and I got quite a few things done.  I took the pug with me in the a.m. while I ran some errands and bought some flowers and soil and veggie seeds.  After my errands, we took our walk and then went home and I worked in the flower beds.  I planted yellow and orange marigolds in my big planter and then along the front flower bed I planted dark red dianthus and white vinca.  Along the side I planted four mixed canna bulbs behind the spot where my orchid iris is coming back in.  On either side of my earth kind fairy rose I planted a yellow tomato plant and an eggplant plant, and I put up a short white fence to keep the pug from traipsing through it.  But of course the little fence just made that area more appealing to her.

Then I repotted houseplants and divided my huge African violet into three smaller ones.

Then it was COLD and windy on Sunday! So I stayed in and made veggie fried rice, drank hot black tea, knitted a dishcloth, and watched two of the movies from The Librarian trilogy starring Noah Wyle. Perfect Sunday afternoon/evening.

About ksknitter

I wear many hats -- mother and grandmother, paralegal, knitter, bass player in a praise and worship band, gardener, cook, avid reader, good friend, good listener -- just to name a few. View all posts by ksknitter

Leave a Reply

