April Already

Where does the time go?  It is April already.  What have I been up to?  The usual, I guess.  I did read the first two books in The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins.  Other books I have read or am reading:  The Kind Diet by Alicia Silverstone (if you only knew the story behind that chicken you are eating!!), The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie, The first Percy Jackson and the Olympians book and I have the second to start, and several Christian living books.

I finally finished the organic cotton sweater for little Charlotte Rose.  I have a pic of it on my camera, but I will have to upload that later.

I have been in a finishing mode.  I sat the other night and wove in the ends on about 15 dishcloths and put them in the box for Sudan.  Many more dishcloths to go.  I have two other infant/toddler sweaters to finish and I have those out on the table so that I have to look at them every day.  And I need to get back to knitting the hunting socks.  I am nearly ready to turn the heel on the first one.

My favorite clothing store sent me a 40% off entire purchase coupon a week or so ago.  I wish they would stop tempting me like that.  So I bought a shirt for a friend’s upcoming birthday, a pair of jeans, a pair of black slacks, a black sleeveless tee, and a couple of other shirts for spring and summer.

I was supposed to see Date Night last with a couple of friends from work.  They were already in the theater when I got there and were saving me a seat.  There was a long line, and by the time I got to the cashier, she had just slapped a sign up that read SOLD OUT.  She would not sell me one little ticket!  So no movie for me.  This morning my friends said there was an entire row of open seats in the theater. Hmmmmph.

But the pug was happy.  I went home, changed clothes for the second time, and took her to the park.  It was a bit windy, but nice to get outside. 

I went to the farm market early Saturday morning.  Not much there, but the enchilada lady was there, so I bought a package of cheese and onion enchiladas.  I bought some salad greens and a parsley plant.  This coming Saturday should be better — I should be able to buy some asparagus if I get there early enough.

I do have some fresh local asparagus to roast.  I went out to my pastor’s farm Sunday afternoon for a meeting and dinner.  The farm is about 45 minutes outside our city.  It is a great place.  His wife sent some freshly picked asparagus home with me.

This past Saturday I tried a new recipe that I really liked.  Red Radish Tabbouleh — from the Silverstone book.  It has a nice flavor and is a nice change from regular tabbouleh.

Last Thursday I stopped in at my favorite local Lebanese place to pick up an order of meatless moussaka over rice and I bought a jar of pickled eggplant to try.

Been listening to Silversun Pickups today on the iPod.

About ksknitter

I wear many hats -- mother and grandmother, paralegal, knitter, bass player in a praise and worship band, gardener, cook, avid reader, good friend, good listener -- just to name a few. View all posts by ksknitter

Leave a Reply

