Monday in ICT

31o4qx1uy-l__sl160_aa115_

I just finished reading this delightful little book. Set in post WWII about Guernsey island’s occupation by the Germans. The book is written as a series of letters. I loved it.

And now I am going to start a new book today — Olive Kitteredge by Elizabeth Strout.

This morning the sun is shining and the temp is supposed to be close to 70 — I am ready for warmer and drier weather.  There are so many things I want to be able to do outside.  I did do some work in the backyard yesterday.  Still need to purchase some bedding plants and get those in.  Perhaps middle of May for that.  Last year my mother bought me an Earth Kind rose bush and it wintered nicely and is coming back.  Over two years ago, I planted a lilac starter that my mother also gave me, and it seems to be finally taking off this year.  The front is covered in dandelions and assorted weeds.  I need to get out and start weeding.  A few iris are on the verge of blooming.  We had snow and ice during tulip time, so my tulips did not bloom this year.

Spent some time online yesterday and found a free instruction manual for the sewing machine I bought on eBay last year.  Downloaded it and it will be very useful.  I need to alter several pairs of work slacks and do some hemming and mending.

I settled down yesterday evening with a cup of chamomile tea and watched The Old Curiosity Shop on PBS.

About ksknitter

I wear many hats -- mother and grandmother, paralegal, knitter, bass player in a praise and worship band, gardener, cook, avid reader, good friend, good listener -- just to name a few. View all posts by ksknitter

One response to “Monday in ICT

  • Mary

    My book group is reading Guernsey for our June selection. I have the book from the library and look forward to starting it soon, but won’t be at the discussion. I am bummed about that. We will be in DC for the weekend for a Remembrance service at Arlington National Cemetary – annual event for Len’s West Point class where they remember/honor their fallen comrades.

Leave a Reply

