Long Time No Update

Wow — a month since I posted.  My, how time flies!

I have some photos of my Little Buddy over the 4th holiday weekend when he and Soldier Daughter came down.  Soldier Daughter and I saw Big River at Music Theater and we both decided it was the best show of the season so far.  Then she went home the next morning and the Little Buddy stayed with me until I drove him home on the following Monday morning.  Soldier Daughter was in need of a break.  Solitude can be a wonderful thing as I have discovered in my own life.

Mr. Bucket Head -- July 4th

Mr. Bucket Head -- July 4th

We had a great time.  He played in the water all weekend.  We ate popsicles.  But he is such a little imp.  Saturday I decided to do some weeding while he was playing in the water instead of just sitting on the glider.  There I was on my hands and knees in the flower bed pulling weeds.  The next thing I know is that I have had a bucket of cold water dumped on my back.  Of course when I screamed, he thought that was just hilarious and laughed and laughed and headed for the pool to refill the bucket.  I chased him around the yard and took the bucket away for awhile.  The big pool photo is from Sunday afternoon.  My friend Patti lives in an area with an above ground pool and invited us over for lunch and swimming. She had her 3 grandchildren there, so the Little Buddy had bigger kids to play with.  He had a great time and Patti and I had a chance to visit.
And the fashionista is back home.  Living in LA was too expensive.  She may eventually go back, but she is home for now.  Planning to take a couple of classes in the fall and is currently job hunting.  But she is no closer to figuring out what she would like to do with the rest of her life.  At first her plan was to save money and go back to LA and go to hair school.  She and her friend thought they would like to do hair and make up for rock bands.  But she is not sure now that she wants to do that.  She is now thinking about trying to get a job on a cruise ship at the end of the year.  But the plan changes daily–I just can’t keep up. Sometimes I look at her and think this can’t possibly be my child — and yet….
I had knitting photos, but it is late at night, and I accidentally deleted them from the camera when I was attempting to load them.  So I will retake them later.  I finished the red Whitby socks and the Wavy scarf.  I am now working on a pair of Hedgerow socks — free pattern on Ravelry.  Using Regia in a dark olive green.
I told the fashionista that she decided to come home on my busiest three weeks of the summer.  Last weekend I had a lesson, two practices, a Saturday event, and a Sunday lunch meeting.  This weekend I am going to a picnic at the Senior Pastor’s farm, Sunday is lunch with two good friends, and Sunday evening is the 40th birthday  party for the husband of another good friend.  The following weekend I am out of town.
Well, need to end this for now.  Need to get to bed so that I can be up bright and early to make my food for the outing.  Green bean and walnut salad, a blueberry clafouti, and sliced tomatoes with basil and feta cheese.  Yum!
About ksknitter

I wear many hats -- mother and grandmother, paralegal, knitter, bass player in a praise and worship band, gardener, cook, avid reader, good friend, good listener -- just to name a few. View all posts by ksknitter

One response to “Long Time No Update

  • Mary

    Mr. Bucket Head is TOTALLY adorable. The bucket on his head reminded me of my DS Rob. When he was a little guy, he would walk around wearing a green Tupperware lettuce crisper on his head and calling it his “firetruck hat”. Sounds like you had a wonderful time with him there.

Leave a Reply

