My Little Buddy is 2!!

ryan-eating-cake.jpg

Wow — it just doesn’t seem possible but my little buddy turned 2 on Friday.  I drove up to Soldier Daughter’s for his party yesterday.  I had a great time.  We played a lot and two of Soldier Daughter’s friends and their children came.  We ate pizza and the kids played and then my Little Buddy opened his gifts and we had cake and ice cream.  He is just such a cutie.  He loves Thomas the Tank Engine, so I got him a Thomas table and chairs for his room.  He has a Thomas play tent set up in his room and he spends a lot of time in there playing.

Soldier Daughter found a gymnastics center that has open gym on Friday nights and she took him there.  He had a blast.  He loved the trampoline.  So she signed up for a Mommy and Me class and will take him back to the open gym on Fridays.

Later after everyone else left, he kept putting a rubber lizard on my arm and I would fake scream and he thought that was hilarious — he laughed and laughed.  Soldier Daughter got some of it on video.  He kept it up until I was tired of fake screaming.

 stripe-cloth-1.jpg

stripe-cloth-2.jpg

Here are two squidge cloths I finished using the new Sugar/Cream Stripes yarn.  I made my cloths a little smaller than the pattern.  I used 32 stitches instead of 40.  I like the stripey yarn.

Saturday while I was getting my hair done, I was browsing through the April 2008 issue of Martha Stewart Living.  There was a short article on sweet potatoes and a suggestion for baking them which I had not tried.  When I eat sweet potatoes, and I only recently developed a taste for them, I peel and slice them and put them on a sheet of foil, drizzle with olive oil and then fresh ground pepper and sea salt, then bake in the oven.  This recipe called for leaving the sweet potato whole and baking it.  Then topping it with sage butter (melted butter with chopped sage) and goat cheese crumbles.  I tried it for dinner Saturday evening, and I think this is my new favorite way to eat sweet potatoes!

I started a Wavy Scarf (Knitty free pattern) in the Marble yarn that I have left from another scarf project.  I took a photo of it, but it didn’t turn out well.  I really need some natural light and it is dreary and rainy here today, so will take a photo of that another time.

About ksknitter

I wear many hats -- mother and grandmother, paralegal, knitter, bass player in a praise and worship band, gardener, cook, avid reader, good friend, good listener -- just to name a few. View all posts by ksknitter

Leave a Reply

